Fall Decorating…

With the weather turning cooler, and the leaves just starting to turn a little red here and there it’s really gotten me into the autumn mood.   Autumn starts on Monday at 11:44 AM here on the East coast.  Today, I went out early to the craft store to get a few things.  I knew that I wanted to make a wreath for our front door.  I always think that Autumn wreaths look great since our door is brown.

Here’s a close up of the items I chose.

I used a simple fall garland and a couple of fall picks. I’ve had that bow for about 4 years now. I thought maybe it was a little bright, what do you think?

Totally inspired by this cover of Crafts ‘n things magazine, I knew that I wanted to make one of these paint cans for my mantle.

The instructions say to use spray paint, but I didn’t have any so I used acrylic paints and brushed on 3 different colors at one time – a green, brown, and cream.  After I brushed on the paint, I used a round sponge to dab at it to make it look more speckled.  Then I added a little orange to make a rust color.
Before:

After:

I’m not totally sold on the flowers that I chose. I think it needs a little something hanging down. I may go back and get some spanish moss or something to add to it. Also, I think I want to sand down the Autumn label that I used. I believe it looks a little to new.

Lastly, I picked up this little turkey today at Kohl’s.  He was on sale for $4.00 I think.   Just too cute to pass up.  Never mind there aren’t flowers in the center of my table right now… I think with a nice fall bouquet in the pot, he’ll be just perfect.

Happy Autumn Everybody!

5 responses to “Fall Decorating…

  1. What wonderful pictures! Your wreath is just perfect for your front door. That is such a fun idea for a paint can arrangement, too! Shoot, I might could even do that craft!!
    I need to get to Kohl’s for a gobble gobble!

    Big TX Hugs,
    Stephanie
    Angelic Accents

  2. I found you thru Nesting Week and I’m in love with your brown door. 🙂 I think the orange bow is perfect, and so are your other things. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Welcome to Fall Nesting Week | The Inspired Room·

  4. Pingback: Fall Mantle: A Party at The Nesters | My life…preserved·

Leave a Reply

