Second Spring…

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.” — Albert Camus

I always think that Autumn is my favorite time of year, the crisp mornings and sweater weather evenings, but maybe just maybe it’s coming as a second to spring?  A walk around my home one warm Autumn afternoon, these are my discoveries.

These flower pots, once held my tomato garden now full of decorative kale and mums.

The tree in the front yard, that was the object of my affection early this year, now showing it’s burning glory for all to see.

One of my favorite things to spot is when the sunshine peeks through the changing leaves. It’s as if we are watching a little nature dance.

The berries of the Crape Myrtle, while stunning in their fall state bring promise of lovely pink flowers in the spring.

The view from my back porch – a little to the left is the bird feeder and the squirrel stump, I love this view.

And while all of these things are so colorful and warm, I must remember that we have to get through the winter first. While winter snow brings a smile to my heart, I will cherish these days and hope for the sunshine and the warmth again before long. I’m not sure what these are, but as soon as I see them I can’t help but think that winter is right around the corner.

3 responses to “Second Spring…

  1. Just popping in to say hi! I’ve been such a flake lately but I am trying to get back to reading blogs and posting at SWAK and all that good stuff. Was thinking about you the other day and wondering how you’ve been. Hope all is well!

    Oh, and I LOVE that second photo of the single orange leaf, that would make such a great print to be framed.

Leave a Reply

