Dreaming of the Summer Garden

Ok, fine.  I know it’s only 18 outside, and we’re expecting snow tomorrow but I’m dreaming of the Summer garden.  Maybe it’s the influx of seed catalogs, or the daily emails from Gardener’s and Harvest to Table.  I’m not sure.  But I can’t stop thinking about and planning my garden.  I ordered two new books from Amazon the other day – both specific to gardening in NC.   The one is even month by month so I know exactly what do.  This will be my second year with my raised bed garden.   I’m reading Square Foot Gardening, and making lots of notes of what did and didn’t work last year.   What am I planning for this year?

  • Cucumbers
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Herbs
  • zucchini
  • Peppers
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Radishes
  • Green Onions

And who knows what else.   Dreaming of the Summer Garden, it’s what’s helping me get through this winter.  Are you planting a garden this year?

3 responses to “Dreaming of the Summer Garden

  1. I am starting to plan the summer garden too. I have already started some canna lily seeds indoors and they are sprouting. I am hoping for a lot of sunshine on the windowsill before spring 🙂

    Sheryl

  2. Me me me! Starting out very small this year: tomatoes, possibly cucumbers and/or peppers. I’ll likely be in touch with you for help. A LOT 😉

Leave a Reply

