Life’s Unexpected Changes

Hello! I’ve struggled with how to begin blogging again.  I’ve wondered if anyone realized I’d fallen behind.  I want to apologize for posting so sporadically these last few months.  Life sometime’s it throws curveballs at you.  You never know what’s around the corner, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the past couple months, it’s be prepared for life’s unexpected changes.

Some of you may know that on August 11, 2010 J’s father passed away in his sleep.  Neither of us were prepared for the happenings that day, or the weeks and days that followed.  We were to have dinner together on August 10th, he called to say he didn’t feel well and wouldn’t be over.  We didn’t realize that would be the last time we would ever speak with him.  It still doesn’t feel real, most days I have to remind myself not to ask J about him. It’s often said that people want to leave this earth in their sleep that it’s the most peaceful way to go, and while it’s probably what’s best for that person the people they leave behind are left asking, why?  I guess it’s true that you never realize how much you love someone until they’re gone.  I love you Larry, and I miss you.

As we were dealing with the grieving process of J’s father, we also had to deal with Milo and his fibrosarcoma, or cancer.  We’d known since April that he had a tumor in his mouth, we had it removed twice, we were giving him pain meds and trying to make him as comfortable as possible.  But in the back of our minds, we both knew that the day was coming.  The day when we would have to say our final goodbyes to our sweet puppy.  Ok, so he was 11.  He’s not a puppy anymore but neither of us were ever able to stop calling him “Puppy”.   That day, that day in August was the hardest day of my life to date.  I know that he’s in such a better place now, that he’s in doggie heaven playing ball with his Grandpa and chasing squirrels and bunnies.  After 11 years of faithful companionship, unconditional love, lots of trips to the park, playing ball and giving puppy kisses, my heart still breaks for you my sweet (but crazy) boy.

So please forgive me for being behind, out of the loop, however you want to say it.  I look forward to starting to blog again, to reconnecting with many of the wonderful women out there in blogland.  I look forward to sharing the changes I’m making, whether it’s at home, in life, spiritually and mentally, or just something as simple as using lite cream in my coffee.  Won’t you come along with me for the journey I’m about to begin?

One response to “Life’s Unexpected Changes

  1. Hi Stephanie,
    I’ve followed your blog for several years, and though I don’t come every day, I do pop by now and again. I noticed you were “quiet”…but life is busy…or quiet…sometimes. I’m sorry for your painful losses that came so very close together. It is hard to lose a family member, wheter expected or not. I lost a special dog over two years ago, and still miss her almost daily…but it does get easier. With time.
    CathyT (SaltwaterCathy from LM)

Leave a Reply

